Shop online & get books sent straight to your door

Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

Richard Ford

The Bascombe Novels


This is a trilogy of brilliant novels - "The Sportswriter", "Independence Day", and "The Lay of the Land" - that charts the life and times of one of the most beloved and enduring characters in modern fiction. When we meet Frank Bascombe in "The Sportswriter", his unguarded voice instantly wins us over and pulls us into a life that has been irrevocably changed - by the loss of a marriage, a career, a child. We then follow Frank, ever laconic and observant, through "Independence Day" and "The Lay of the Land".

'In Haddam, summer floats over tree-softened streets like a sweet lotion balm from a careless, languorous god, and the world falls in tune with its own mysterious anthems. Shaded lawns lie still and damp in the early a.m.' - "Independence Day".

Format: Paperback
Published: in UK in 2009
Publisher: Everyman's Library
Pages: 1336
Language: English
ISBN 13: 9781841593197
ISBN 10: 1841593192

Please be aware that our website is updated weekly, and on occasion stock may vary from what is displayed. We will contact you the day of purchase in case of any delay on your order and you will be offered a refund or voucher if the timing doesn't work for you.

We're here to help

Can't find what you're looking for?

If the book you're after is not displayed on our website or is 'sold out' please feel free to contact us at or come into the store and we can let you know the cost of ordering it and expected arrival time.

The Bascombe Novels