Support Ukraine through donations here

Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

Dave Eggers

Your Fathers, Where are They? and the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

€11,95

Your Fathers, Where Are They is Dave Eggers' brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of the world. In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him.

Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind.

Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages.

And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions. "With each tightly controlled book, Eggers' fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling ...Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?" (Independent). "An angry and astute investigation into the state of America ...Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola".

(Mark Lawson, Guardian). "One of our fiercest and most compelling writers". (Sunday Times).

Dave Eggers is the author of nine books, including most recently The Circle and A Hologram for the King, which was a finalist for the 2012 National Book Award. He is the founder of McSweeney's, an independent publishing company based in San Francisco that produces books, a quarterly journal of new writing (McSweeney's Quarterly Concern), and a monthly magazine, The Believer. He lives in Northern California with his family.

Format: Paperback
Published: in UK in 2015
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Pages: 224
Language: English
ISBN 13: 9780241973004
ISBN 10: 0241973007

Shipping & Delivery

Please allow us 24-48 hours to prepare your order. Once your order is ready to be dispatched, we will send it via Deutsche Post DHL which quotes the following delivery times:


Within Germany: 3-5 working days
Within Europe: 7-10 working days

We currently only ship to countries in Europe and the United Kingdom. If you have a request for shipping to another area of the world, please contact us at shakespeareandsons@gmail.com.

Refunds & Returns

At Shakespeare & Sons you can shop with confidence. We are happy to provide a refund or voucher of equal value where the goods are returned within 21 days of purchase unused, in original condition, accompanied by proof of purchase.

To return an online order within the refund policy period, please contact us and we will then give you instructions on how best to return your order so we can process your refund.

To return an in store purchase, please bring the purchased item and proof of receipt into the store, within 21 days of purchase.

Please note we do not offer discretionary exchange or refunds on Gift Vouchers, Sale Items, or damaged products. 

Gift Wrap & Cards

Shakespeare & Sons offer gift wrapping and greeting cards. To have your items gift wrapped, head to our Gift Wrap collection, choose the paper you prefer and add it to your cart. We will wrap the items for you and send them to the address you have submitted or have it ready in store for you to collect (depending on what option you select at check out).

Check out our Greeting Card collection here. If you would like us to include a message in your selected card, forward your purchase confirmation onto shakespeareandsons@gmail.com with some words and we will add these in for you. 

We're here to help

Can't find what you're looking for?

If the book you're after is not displayed on our website or is 'sold out' please feel free to contact us at shakesandsonsberlin@gmail.com or come into the store and we can let you know the cost of ordering it and expected arrival time.

Your Fathers, Where are They? and the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

€11,95